When your guitar player starts a song way too slow or fast..

Post here anything about the world of drumming. Equipment, music, drum gear, artists, events, gigs, and anything else drum set related!

Moderator: Moderators

SkinBeater
beginner
beginner

Post Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:54 pm

What do you do... I've been playing for over 20 years now in a million different bands and always have the same problem... i usually wait for the breaks in the song and try to speed up the tempo there... what do you do??

Jon

check out some of my vids at....
www.myspace.com/shogun_warrior32
"Hold the red star proudly..."

Check out more vids at... www.myspace.com/shogun_warrior32
Animal
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:15 am

When your guitar player starts a song way too slow or fast..

...I simply slow him down, or speed him up!

Or I can try to conduct him, stomping my hi-hat in "eight's" in order to get him back on track.
(I don't have this problem very often with my guitar player, I stress to add... :wink: )
ImageImageImage
diceptikon
new
new

Post Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:50 am

uhhm, i have had this problem several times with my guitar player. sometimes he gets the idea that he is expressing himself creatively when he decides to start our song off 1/3 slower than normal because he is "feelin it". unfortunately you will be the one to sound like an ass if you make attempts to adjust. so my solution has been to just bite your lip and deal with it and when the show is over you need to instead adjust his ego. i'm sure you all know how that goes. communication before the show makes communication in the show a slight bit easier.
beezy bees
burn...burn in the belly of a shark
Qbs
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:10 am

I've solved this problem in my band by ALWAYS starting a song with me giving the tempo by means of quarter notes either playing the hi hat w/foot or just by hitting the sticks :)
Rhytm is a way to transmit a description of experience