drumline?

Post here anything about the world of drumming. Equipment, music, drum gear, artists, events, gigs, and anything else drum set related!

Moderator: Moderators

wolfsburg6674
beginner
beginner

Post Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:13 pm

do we have any center snares in the house? how bout any quad players? i was center snare for my high school and i must say heres nothing like having a clean snare line to me.band may be for geeks but there was nothing geeky about drumline....5 hours of practice,rain sleet snow...well not snow cause i lived in vegas...i guess no sleet either....but you know what i mean.....that was really my introduction to rudiments...anyone else miss drumline?
Rob the Drummer
session drummer
session drummer

Post Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:23 pm

Yea, I really miss it too man! I feel your pain. I was center snare for two years and I played the tenors as well for two years. I went on to teach drumlines at two different high schools for 6 years. Now I just play kit for a living and I still break out the old marching stix and pad to work chops.
Rata-tata-zzzzzzz......Drums Always!

www.youtube.com/robthedrummer
Mistajohn
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:54 am

I marched quads in college, great for playing the kit.

Drumlines build chops. 'nuf said 'bout that...

Chops aside, the sound of 8 cats playing a clean roll cannot be matched. A good drum line that knows it's charts and the feel, and has chops, is amazing.

I have learned that having good rudimental ability does not always translate to the kit. THose are two separate things...

Rock
AMK330
beginner
beginner

Post Fri Sep 01, 2006 11:17 am

i am currently playing tenor drums (acually my high school we use quints (5 drums)) and to tell you the truth i love playing them i was a snare player for a little bit but honestly i have more fun playing tenors :D
Hera
new
new

Post Fri Sep 01, 2006 11:38 am