Warming up

Post drum lessons here! Share your talents, give some tips, or get new tips and learn to play new stuff!

Moderator: Moderators

Do you warm up before a gig?

Yes
51
85%
No
9
15%
 
Total votes: 60
User avatar
Multibomber
drumming adept
drumming adept
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 3:20 am

Post Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:02 pm

This is me warming up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhGgKaqhCIM

Singing while playing drums really helps me warm up quickly.
Your boobs aren't "huge"... they're "fun-sized!"
Dale
session drummer
session drummer
Posts: 537
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Aus

Post Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:36 am

Sometimes there isn't time. But I prefer to warm up. I have nothing specific. Just paradiddles, rolls, press rolls etc.
I don't know what I'm talking about!

"Don't play FOR people. Play WITH people."
- Papa Jo Jones
User avatar
shirleythewerewolf
drumming adept
drumming adept
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:43 pm
Location: Green Bay, WI

Post Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:04 am

I always warm up, I'm pretty fanatical about it. I'll take my sticks and work on some things out of Stick Control on a practice pad, and I'll also do some triplets with my feet and things like that. Then I'll stretch and jog in place a bit before a show, because I think it's a good idea to get my heart rate up before just jumping onstage cold.
The Heel
drumming adept
drumming adept
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:12 pm

Post Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:38 pm

Crazy. Some gigs where I'm running sound from the stage I barely have time to get a good drum sound nevermind spend hours warming up.

I try, when possible, to get 15 minutes in... but it seems few and far between.
User avatar
ClintKelly
drumming adept
drumming adept
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:18 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Post Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:14 am

why would one not warm up?
Image
User avatar
Drumming_Animal
drumming adept
drumming adept
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 3:46 am
Location: Hastings, England

Post Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:00 pm

yea i do some basic streches before i go on, then maybe tap around on my knees or something with my sticks
shanemunzert
drumming adept
drumming adept
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: M-town, DE

Post Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:19 pm

warm with rudiments. then i do twenty pushups and situps.
GIBson
beginner
beginner
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: canada

Post Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:36 pm

my longest gig was like 25 mins and it was pretty amatuer, i cant see wrming up improving my playing when its only for that long..