snare problems

Tama, Pearl, Yamaha, Premier, Mapex etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Dave2094
beginner
beginner

Post Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:08 pm

So I've been playing drums for about 13 years yet I'm not the greatest at tuning and such. I have a PDP LX series kit which I love and I'm using the factory PDP LX series snare. I replaced the top head with a Remo Controlled Sound head and I replaced the bottom with a Remo Ambasador (too lazy to go to the other room to make sure). Anyways, I replaced the heads and I still get a little buzzing and some high over tones and extra waste. It go away if I dampen it which is fine with me. The snare strainer is also the factory one, could that be the reason for the buzzing sound?

And also ever since I put the new heads on the snare just doesnt sound right. It sounds like its too lose, that's the best I can describe it. Almost like the snare strainer is touching the bottom head too much or not enough. I never had that problem before I replaced the heads...any suggesitions/advice??

Yeah I knows, its quite sad I'm a "newbie" when it comes to tuning and I've been playing this long...thanks for any help anyone cna give.
devilspain
session drummer
session drummer

Post Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:47 am

here is an artical written in a uk drum mag called rhythm and it explains one way to tune your the snare. here goes.

(Bottom head) take off the snare wires and batter head. put the reso head on the drum. and finger tighten all your lugs. you will notice that there are wrinkles between the two lugs where the snare bed is. take two drum keys and put on the lugs either side of the snare bed and tighten slowly to remove the wrinkles. do the same for the other snare bed. dont touch the other lugs.