I need advice....

Post here anything about the world of drumming. Equipment, music, drum gear, artists, events, gigs, and anything else drum set related!

Moderator: Moderators

madoox87
new
new

Post Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:57 pm

I recently started using a second bass drum, and I absolutely love it. I was curious though if it would be a lot easier set-up if I were to use a rack? I've never used one before and Im thinking about getting one. Im not exaclty sure what to get though as far as brands go. I use eight cymbals (not including hi hats) and I have 3 mounted toms. I just basically want to be able to set-up faster. Should I just stick with my stands or...... should get a rack?

Would it be a lot more to caryy around?
SUCKA!
screamkevin

Post Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:12 am

I've been using a Gibraltar rack for years, and it's great. You'll save a TON of weight over full out cymbal stands, I think there are more options with a rack, and did I mention they are LIGHT?

Racks are the way to go!
Me, My Story, and Pics Of My Drums:
http://www.saludacymbals.com/c/ksiegel.html
Endorsing Saluda Cymbals since 2006!
Howie is my homie. Word.
The Alien Drummer
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:11 am

I use a pearl icon rack 3 side rack. I don't break anything down and just load it straight into the trailer. So basically, I carry it on stage, unfold it, and I'm done with my stands. Mount the toms, cymbals and place the snare and bass and it's ready to mic up in 10 minutes.
http://www.myspace.com/thealiendrummer

Starclassic Birch -- Mapex Pro- M Rock -- Ludwig Rocker -- Roland SPD-S -- Pearl ICON Rack -- Zildjian, Sabian, Paiste, Saluda & Wuhon Cymbals -- Yamaha PTX8
zen_drummer
groove master
groove master

Post Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:51 pm

With 10 cymbals, two hi-hats, a glockenspiel, cowbells and a mounted tambourine, you better believe I use a rack! I can't even imagine spending the time to setup all those stands.