Bass Drum Sub-Woofer

Pearl, Tama, Yamaha, DW, Ludwig, Premier, Mapex etc.

Moderator: Moderators

RimShot2100GP
beginner
beginner

Post Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:30 pm

so guys i have been drumming for over 4 years, and i still have yet to understand the purpose of a bass drum sub-woofer, can someone please explain the pros and cons of this extravagant upgrade?

thx

-c
Pulse
Remo
Ludwig
Zildjian
Gibraltar
Vic Firth
Shalaq
session drummer
session drummer

Post Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:22 am

If you have a normal kick 22x18 stuffed with pillows you get good attack, but not really good sustain. If you want sustain you have to adjust muffling, but it'll change the feel of the head. Some players don't want to change the feel of the kicks, but want the sustain. That's where the woofer comes into play. It's the same diameter as the kicks and it's placed directly in front of the kick drum. When you hit the kick, it makes the woofer resonate as well, giving you sustain without loosing the attack.
Pros:
attack and sustain witout the beater flopping every time you hit it ;)
cons:
Hard to control
you need two mics.
Mapex, Istanbul Agop, Attack, Vater/O4D.
I want an endorsement :)
Quick link to the search engine:
http://www.drumsmylife.com/search.php
PaulZILLA
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Thu Dec 28, 2006 10:40 pm

ive always wondered that myself. thanks for explaining. i saw a guy on the DDRUM site. and he put an entire second 22x20 bass in front of his. without the reso head on the main. or the batter on the second. he used t he rim and the mounts on the 2 and hooked them together. its a nice sound. but very big. sounds god looks funny. a 22x 40 is the final size. its a big boy. check the DDRUM myspace to see
Get KRUNK...Its A Death Metal Thing.
animalien
new
new

Post Sun Dec 31, 2006 11:25 am

There is another thing that is easier than the subwoofer. It's called the Yamaha Subkick

http://www.zzounds.com/item--YAMSUBKICK