To trigger or not to trigger, that is the question.

Roland TD, Yamaha DTX, Alesis DM5, Simmson etc. All about electronic drum sets.

Moderator: Moderators

The Alien Drummer
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:38 pm

I've been playing semi professionally for 20 years and have gone through different phases of triggering. Starting with my old Yamaha PTX-8 in the 80's and now with my Roland SPD-S. I'm currently using ddrum red shot triggers on the kick and snare.

My frustration is trying to get a balance of "playablity" from the acoustic kit and the sound of a triggered sample.

So here I am asking for your opinions on tips/tricks of triggering.

What tips/tricks do you use to trigger without the dreaded double trigger?

Do you trigger with dynamics or just one volume no matter how hard you hit?

Do use use the same samples on every song?

Other thoughts and/or suggestions???????????
http://www.myspace.com/thealiendrummer

Starclassic Birch -- Mapex Pro- M Rock -- Ludwig Rocker -- Roland SPD-S -- Pearl ICON Rack -- Zildjian, Sabian, Paiste, Saluda & Wuhon Cymbals -- Yamaha PTX8
Alcyon
session drummer
session drummer

Post Mon Nov 27, 2006 2:35 pm

IMO Triggering is a cop-out unless you're using dynamics or only as a highlight. If you want to play fast and loud, you should practice and learn to play fast and loud (obviously having played for 20 years you're good at it, so not accusing or anything) instead of using triggers to make really light hits sound like full hits.

Just my 2?.
The Alien Drummer
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Mon Nov 27, 2006 2:56 pm

IMO Triggering is a cop-out unless you're using dynamics or only as a highlight. If you want to play fast and loud, you should practice and learn to play fast and loud (obviously having played for 20 years you're good at it, so not accusing or anything) instead of using triggers to make really light hits sound like full hits.