Drum Mics......Help Please!

It's time to discuss drum accessories.

Moderator: Moderators

tomyco
beginner
beginner

Post Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:55 am

I am not a drummer but a guitarist with a home studio. (Mac Pro-Pro-Tools- Digi 002 rack - Mackie 824 ) I just put together my studio and would like to start recording live drums for some original songs. The style I play would be I guess classic rock, no real hard stuff!

I'm looking for suggestions on mics. I think right now I will probably go with two stereo overhead mics and one bass mic. Does this make sense? I am new to recording and have no clue on drum mics. I just spent a lot of money on my existing stuff and need to go with something a little less money. I'm hoping to spend under $300.00 used, maybe on Ebay.

I know you get what you pay for! And I know that buying something cheap now, in a year or two I will end up paying more for better mics. I'm not looking for cheap mics, just something I would not be embarrased about using. Would just the overhead mics do? Could really use some advice on this. Thanks!
SGarrett

Post Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:37 am

For comparison's sake. I spent $250 on each of my overheads and they aren't high end at all. You'll also spend around $200 for one of the industry standard kick mic's. There are low cost kits that are fine for the local stage but not what I'd want to track into a DAW with. It doesn't matter how good your interface is if you have low quality mic's. Oh, and you'll want a snare mic or the snare will sound really thin.

Check eBay for a Shure SM57, Beta 52, and some decent overheads. If you must skimp, don't do it on your overheads.
"If the goal is for me to give up my reality for your reality, then the goal is for me to give up my self for your self--a goal I have to reject."
anavrinIV
groove master
groove master

Post Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:31 pm