Multi-Part Snare Question

Tama, Pearl, Yamaha, Premier, Mapex etc.

Moderator: Moderators

TOTEMdrum
beginner
beginner

Post Mon Jul 20, 2009 9:40 am

As I've mentioned in a few other threads I am fairly new to drumming. I bought my (slightly older) Pearl Export Series 5 piece kit from a guy who bought it from a church... and so on. I love the variety of sounds I can get out of the toms depending on the head I use and muffling etc... But the snare is another story.

My snare is a low end metal Pearl snare. I've messed around with a few different heads and muffling techniques but just can't get the sound out of it I want. The sound I want can best be described as a thick THWAP! Warm, with a little bit of tone but not so warm that it blends in with the toms, it needs to stand out.

This past weekend my band switched practice locations and I used the drumset of our keyboardist's fathers band. It was a Yamaha Beech Custom set. I wasn't crazy about the sound of the toms but the snare drum was EXACTLY what I'm looking for. It was a 14" snare (not sure of the depth), and had a wood rim around the top that their drummer uses for rim shots.

So to get to the point (finally... :roll: ). Any suggetions on getting my snare to sound similar? Or any suggestions of other types of snare's that I can purchase which might not be quite as pricey?? Eventually I want to buy a nicer set but in the meantime I'd like to get a snare I can be proud of.
Timekeep69

Post Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:44 pm

Buy a wood shell snare drum.
www.pjclevenger.com

www.medicinemandrumsaz.com

DML Special: 20% off all drums.

Two wrongs don't make a right, but three rights do make a left!
Damagedrummer
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:04 pm