I'm recording tomorrow

All about drum recording technique, mics, software etc...

Moderator: Moderators

I'm recording tomorrow

Postby lexington » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:52 am

So, i've spent most of today (being unemployed unfortunately) fine tuning my drums, making sure they're all sounding decent and polishing my cymbals (a lot of time on my hands...) my set up is pretty weird, i've got a crash on my left hand side and on my right hand side (sat behind the kit) i've got a ride, another crash and a china cymbal. We're recording at my friends studio, and I just spoke to him on the phone, and he wants to use three over heads. That's all well and good, but won't that mess up the panning?
hmm i'm not sure. i've only recorded drums once before, but been in the studio recording bass/guitar and vocals, so i know a little bit. i'm no producer so maybe i should leave him to it? but i do want my drums to sound sick...
any comments/suggestions?
lexington
drumming adept
drumming adept

I'm recording tomorrow

Help our forum grow and visit our sponsors pages!

Help DML grow and visit pages on left!

Re: I'm recording tomorrow

Postby SGarrett » Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:44 am

Placement is everything with mic'ing. :)

Don't forget to retune your drums once you get in the drum cave because it'll have different acoustics than your room.
"If the goal is for me to give up my reality for your reality, then the goal is for me to give up my self for your self--a goal I have to reject."
SGarrett

Postby lexington » Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:13 am

i went up to our practice space and tuned them there cos thats where they're stored :) yeah, i've thought about it and i'll probably persuade him to just use two over heads, all the better for panning.
lexington
drumming adept
drumming adept

Postby Sudz » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:43 pm