22" vs. 24" bass drum

Pearl, Tama, Yamaha, DW, Ludwig, Premier, Mapex etc.

Moderator: Moderators

22" vs. 24" bass drum

Postby TQDrummer » Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:18 pm

whats the difference in sound and feel? is there a big difference in feel because ive been playing at 22" for 7 years and im thinking of getting a 24" bass drum on my new kit.
Tama Superstar 22", 13", 16" Pearl Omar Hakim Snare - 5x13 Sabian: 14" AA Rock Hats, Zildjian: 19" A Medium Thin Crash, 21" A Sweet Ride, 20" A Custom Projection Crash, All hardware is DW 9000 series, Vic Firth 3A
TQDrummer
beginner
beginner

22" vs. 24" bass drum

Help our forum grow and visit our sponsors pages!

Help DML grow and visit pages on left!

Re: 22" vs. 24" bass drum

Postby Assback » Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:39 pm

difference is two inches :lol:
Assback
session drummer
session drummer

Postby TQDrummer » Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:41 pm

haha thank you :D

but sound and feel wise
Tama Superstar 22", 13", 16" Pearl Omar Hakim Snare - 5x13 Sabian: 14" AA Rock Hats, Zildjian: 19" A Medium Thin Crash, 21" A Sweet Ride, 20" A Custom Projection Crash, All hardware is DW 9000 series, Vic Firth 3A
TQDrummer
beginner
beginner

Postby wmpdrummer13 » Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:36 am

Not a whole lot of difference feel wise the only difference is your bass drum pedal beater will have to be a little bit longer if you want it in the middle of the bass drum and that could feel a little different. Sound wise just a little deeper tone thats all. You would probably find yourself tuning it just a little different than the 22" as well.

Tama Rockstar Custom, Zildjian A Customs and A series cymbals, Paiste, Sabian, Wuhan, Promark Japanese Oak, Remo and Evans Heads, DW hardware, Pearl Icon Rack, DW 8002 pedals
wmpdrummer13
drumming adept
drumming adept

Postby Steaky » Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:35 pm

The difference is bigger than you might expect.
They sound monstrous. Shakes Bar rooms and carry really well un-mic'd.