New kit

Pearl, Tama, Yamaha, DW, Ludwig, Premier, Mapex etc.

Moderator: Moderators

miren324
beginner
beginner

Post Thu Oct 09, 2008 2:39 pm

I've been playing drums for 8 years now, and I finally have enough money to get a good set. I have a Pearl Export right now that I bought from a friend, and it's worked really well for me, but I want something a little better. Any suggestions? Brand? Maple, birch, etc.? I don't have enough money to spend $500 on each drum, so I'd like to get a good 5-piece kit that I can buy all together. If I need to buy one drum seperately however, for instance a better snare, I can probably swing that. I've never had the money to afford a really good set, so I've never spent the time to research good sets, so any and all help will be greatly appreciated.
Assback
session drummer
session drummer

Post Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:09 pm

Tama Starclassic- 4 peice (10, 12, 14, 22,). AMAZING drum set. Most drummers will agree that they are among the top drums. Tuning is a breeze. Pro everything. they look beautul. They run aywhere from $1500 new (sometimes w/ matching snare) to maybe $900-$1000 used. These are the kind of drums you buy and never need to upgrade from. I'd definately give em a look if you're looking to spend a good ammount on a set. You will be satisfied with these.

Others to look at:
PDP Platnium Series (about $1000 for a 5 or 6 peice) <--- very nice drums
I hear good thintg about higher end Mapex

Don't be afraid to look at used sets. There are a lot of amazing used sets in great condition that you can get for a god 25%-35% cheaper than buying new
bass-ackwards
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:17 pm

BUBINGA, if you have that kind of money to spend on each i'd go for bubinga.

Brother_Bong wrote:You are number one so that makes everyone else number two. Like poop.
PDP9000
groove master
groove master

Post Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:36 pm

Check out PDPs drum line up they have some good sets in your price range.
miren324