New sonor force 3007 drum set tom setup help

Pearl, Tama, Yamaha, DW, Ludwig, Premier, Mapex etc.

Moderator: Moderators

sashowal
beginner
beginner

Post Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:30 am

I have just purchased a sweet new Sonor Force 3007 (maple) kit that will be getting here at the end of the week. I don't really want to use the factory heads, so I am looking into purchasing new ones.

Can anyone who has experience with these drums tell me if you have found the overtones on the toms to be manageable, or do you need to dampen the heads with moongels or dampening rings (like an Evans EC2 style head)?

For those who are curious, the set is in the midnight fade and has 2x 22x17.5 kick drums; 10x8 and 12x9 rack toms; 14x14 and 16x16 floor toms; and a 5.5x14 snare.

Thanks for your help!
SlackBackLazy
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:24 am

pics! and remo pinstripes are good, i have no experience with evans though
My favourite word is badass

Mapex M birch - purple
Paiste - Alpha hats and ride, 2002 crash, twenty splash

I love Cheese and drums
groove master
groove master

Post Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:00 am

Sweet Sonor makes great drums the only thing I wont get from them is their giant step pedals.(way too expensive)
Hey My names Dave
Slingerland, Yamaha, and Mapex drums
Saluda Cymbals
I want a Medicine Man Snare

Visit http://www.myspace.com/onceforgotten18 and listen to their new song Our Darkest Desires!
rritter
beginner
beginner

Post Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:25 am

I have the Force 3007’s in the Maple finish and I replaced the heads with Remo Emp’s on the toms, Ambassador on the snare, and a Power Stroke 3 on the bass drum. I must say the stock Remo UT heads that came with the kit sounded quite good though. I’ve been playing since 1964 and the 3007’s are great, along with my Gretsch kit one of the very best I’ve owned. You will love them.

My Kit
Now playing Slingerland, Gretsch, & Sonor Drums
http://www.j4fmusic.com
drumming adept