Gilbrator vs Iron Cobras

Axis, DW, Pearl, Tama...

Moderator: Moderators

5 inches of FURY
beginner
beginner

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:07 am

yes i know, ICs are the better pedal BUT there also 100$ more than the Gilbrator brand.
Im new to the double bass family and fully-blown retarded, so should i just get the Gilbrators, spend 100$ on crack and hope for the best or should I just shell out for the ICs?

next question: someone please explain to me WTF is the difference between stap-drive, direct-drive, power-drive, and glide
anavrinIV
groove master
groove master

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:00 am

strap drives have a strap connecting the pedal to the cam. chain drives have a chain. direct drives have a solid metal bar. power glide is a pedal name based on the shape of the cam.

buy whatever pedal you want. ic's aren't necessarily better than gibraltars, it's all about what you like and need.
zen_drummer wrote:Real life doesn't work that way, and one day he's gonna pull a stunt like that and they'll put a cap in him. At that point it won't matter that he was fat in high-school and couldn't get laid.
ShadowDrummer
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:08 pm

IMO, Iron cobras seem more reliable from experience, never had a part break or slip off, jkust solid built. I think if you buy them new they have a warranty anyway should something happen.
Can't comment on the Gibraltars though..never seen em in person.

BTW, can you be more specific about which Gibraltar model you're looking at for comparison?
Pearl Drums

Paiste Cymbals

Vater Sticks

Evans Heads
5 inches of FURY
beginner
beginner

Post Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:54 am

well thanks to anavrin1V i now know the difference between the pedals are but, im still not sure which one is better
The strap seems like it would "tug" my feet and break easier
The chain seems to be the fastest but it looks like it would require alot more maintenice { i know, i suck at spelling}