How to become a good drummer?

Post drum lessons here! Share your talents, give some tips, or get new tips and learn to play new stuff!

Moderator: Moderators

MrMonkee
new
new

Post Wed Sep 19, 2007 7:13 am

Hi everyone! :)
I'm a new member in this forum, this is my first post :D . I have been playing drums only a half year :? . I play drums because I really love it :P and I learn it by myself :roll: .
I have a small question which I think any beginner may ask the teacher: "How to become a good drummer?". :?:
I hope I will receive your answers. They may be about your exprience.
I'm not good at English :( so I feel difficult in describing my thinking :cry: . But I promise I will try my best in the next posts. :wink:
Thank you for viewing my post and your replies! :P
kylevater
groove master
groove master

Post Wed Sep 19, 2007 11:17 am

ok well of course there is practice practice practice
i would print out tabs and play those, they usually never accurate but you get some good beats of them
and i play the beginnings of some songs that i cant play the rest of lol
such as the color of money by bury your dead
It's challenging you: Image
johnisonfire
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:49 pm

kylevater wrote:...i play the beginnings of some songs that i cant play the rest of lol

Good song. I usually play It's Far Better To Learn by Saosin. I also warm up by playing the first minute of that song haha. I also play certain Paramore song beginnings too.

Practicing is the best way, 20-30 minutes of solid practice per day is plenty, and a day off every now and then never hurt anything either. Online lessons on YouTube is excellent as well. Listening to the drums in music is great too, that's how I learned to play much of what I learn. The hardest thing for me was to kick the "unison dependence" of the bass foot with the corresponding hand, so I suggest learning to ride the hi-hats or the ride cymbal while playing.
kylevater
groove master
groove master