Drumming help

Post drum lessons here! Share your talents, give some tips, or get new tips and learn to play new stuff!

Moderator: Moderators

blackreign
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Sun Feb 18, 2007 2:15 pm

I have been playing drums for about 3 years now, and im starting to doubt my ability to actually play correctly... I was the unfortunate one who got stuck on drums in a band, so I didn't take lessons and I spent 3 years developing bad habits...
anyways...
from watching videos of people drumming and its starting to make me wonder if Im really doing anything right on drums...

First of all I don't think im using my wrists to my full advantage.. my bad habit is im using my arm, and forearm strength to hit the skins... not only that, I sometimes get a little out of hand and go too fast (even for playing black metal)

My bandmates assure me Im a good drummer, as I can keep time with them, but I think I need to work on my technique...

Can anyone give me some really helpful tips here... Im starting to think I should start at the beginning and get lessons, but I can't afford them since I just bought a house...

is there any "correct" way to actually play drums... I saw a few videos of tips on how to actually use your wrists but I can't seem to get it down...

thanks
drummert2k

Post Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:47 pm

for technique, you might want to get private drum lessons. have someone very experienced watch you and teach you so they can correct things you might not notice. heres a good link to Dom Famularo online lessons. he has some good technique stuff on there. and good technique makes a HUGE differance in your playing.

http://www.vicfirth.com/education/drumset/domfamularo.html
blackreign
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:00 am

Thanks...
the free stroke is exactly what I need to learn, its probably going to take some time to get used to it, since Im used to playing pretty stiff...
blackreign
drumming adept
drumming adept