Novice: Help with developing a practice routine.

Post drum lessons here! Share your talents, give some tips, or get new tips and learn to play new stuff!

Moderator: Moderators

freefaller
new
new

Post Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:18 am

So I am a novice at drumming. I would like to set up a routine to improve my drumming. I do not know what I am good at or bad at. I have set around 1 - 2 hours day to practice drumming. Please can someone help me get started? Is it possible to have a routine that can cover all the basics of drumming like practicing with hands and feet etc or would there be too many things to practice with one routine. Thank you for your help.
rufus4dagruv
groove master
groove master

Post Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:59 am

The simple answer to your question is yes, it is possible to have a routine. What I would recommend is finding a private instructor in your area who can observe what you're doing, your strengths and weaknesses, and have them recommend a routine for you. If that's not a reality for you, then I would suggest first getting familiar with rudiments. Here's link that could be useful to you:

http://www.vicfirth.com/education/rudiments.html
freefaller
new
new

Post Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:04 pm

Thank you. What else can I practice on?

I know I can practice fills maybe some base exercises as well? Any other types I could add in?
ChrisNichols
session drummer
session drummer

Post Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:18 pm

Rudiments for sure. And learning grooves is also a good way to start, standard quarter time, eighth time, shuffle, 6/8, that sort of thing. Those are pretty basic grooves and a good place to start.

And I don't think you need to have a specific routine that you adhere to every day. Play what you feel like playing, just jam every now and then - this is supposed to be fun!