I fail at technique.

Post drum lessons here! Share your talents, give some tips, or get new tips and learn to play new stuff!

Moderator: Moderators

youngdrummer1993
beginner
beginner

Post Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:34 am

Alright, I'm a pretty new drummer (last November) and I need tips on what to work on.

I can do basic beats. I "made up" a jazz beat, and I can do a rock beat. I can also do a few odd-signature beats.

I have double kick pedals, so I'll need some exercises for those.

Basically all I want to do is expand my knowledge. I know some rudiments (paradiddle, roll, flam) so I'll nee dhelp with those too.

I'll be needing some exercises to help with timing, syncopation, etc.

Thanks guys I hope you can help :].
eml
session drummer
session drummer

Post Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:51 am

Hey I've drummed like a month longer than you only! :)

Do you play in a band? That helps a lot with keeping time, well at least getting a good feel for when 1&2&3&4& is, keeping tempo is another issue though. I've found that playing with music (mp3 player) or jamming with a metronome is great. To be honest I believe you've come further than me but that's what I can offer in terms of help. :)

Welcome to the board!
youngdrummer1993
beginner
beginner

Post Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:57 am

eml wrote:Hey I've drummed like a month longer than you only! :)

Do you play in a band? That helps a lot with keeping time, well at least getting a good feel for when 1&2&3&4& is, keeping tempo is another issue though. I've found that playing with music (mp3 player) or jamming with a metronome is great. To be honest I believe you've come further than me but that's what I can offer in terms of help. :)

Welcome to the board!

I'd have to get some drummers headphones if I was going to jam out to an mp3.

I've already attempted to learn a a few songs, but it's difficult without headphones.
I love Cheese and drums
groove master
groove master

Post Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:08 am