Creativity

Post drum lessons here! Share your talents, give some tips, or get new tips and learn to play new stuff!

Moderator: Moderators

Battleaxe19
new
new

Post Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:53 pm

hey guys. ive been checking this site every few days for about a month now and decided to make an account.
I'm Tyler.
I play on a Gretsch kit, and mostly just play for fun. Recently ive been playing with some friends who want to start a band, and its been way fun. But I just ahve a really hard time being creative. Mainly with fills and whatnot.

i'm a self taught drummer, ive never had a lesson in my life.

I'd really like to know what I can do to up my creativity. I know the problem most likely lies in how I practice, but yeah idk.

Any tips? iIdeas? Anything?

Thanks
-Tyler
Mitchell?
groove master
groove master

Post Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:00 pm

Listening to a lot of different kinds of music.

That upped my creativity by a leap. I've incorporated so many unique, and interesting things into my playing by just drawing on a lot of great music, from a lot of different styles.
_...:::/ Jimbob2020 agrees \:::..._
ImageImageImage
botcore69
drumming adept
drumming adept

Post Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:11 pm

have some beginner lessons to get u started, then if u wanna caryy on taking them then thats cool. if not, take what basics youve learnt and incorporate them into your playing. stuff like flams, paradiddles and different rolls can benefit your playing so much you wunt believe it
Jimbob2020
session drummer
session drummer

Post Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:18 pm

Learn snare rudiments and sticking!!!!!! And also like Mitchell said listen to different styles of music.. That helped me a lot too listening to some jazz and now it's one of my favorite genres..
DW Collector's
Ludwig Classic Maple
Yamaha Stage Custom Nouveau
Meinl Byzance, Zildjian A Custom, Zildjian Platinum Cymbals
DW 5k & 9k Hardware
Evans and Remo Heads
Vic Firth
Alan_
groove master
groove master

Post Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:22 pm