tabs or by ear?

Post drum lessons here! Share your talents, give some tips, or get new tips and learn to play new stuff!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Alan_
groove master
groove master
Posts: 4204
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:47 am
Location: austin, tx

Post Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:44 am

learn how to read music. it will open up all sorts of possibilities to you.

btw, I don't think this is an "either/or" sort of situation. never limit your possibilities. train your ears as much as your limbs.
Aleks
drumming adept
drumming adept
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:31 pm

Post Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:45 pm

Tabs, but with Guitar Pro 5......because it will play through the part for you so you can hear it, play along, slow the tempo, etc. Its really helpful! Plus, you can tab out your original stuff too
Image
kvltmonkey
drumming adept
drumming adept
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:04 pm

Post Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:46 pm

Learn this tab if you want some good metal roots: http://www.911tabs.com/link/?3702398
Metal Rules!
Asdex
session drummer
session drummer
Posts: 750
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:28 am
Location: Indonesia

Post Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:53 am

Try mixing them both. First, you try playing and finding it out using your ear, then if you are stuck in any of the fills or beats, you can go and check for the tabs. I use guitar pro 5 and it's a great program since you can play through the song with its tab.
Tama Superstar SX52
Tama Warlord Masai Snare
Tama Iron Cobra Double Pedal
Zildjian A custom, A Zildjian, K Hybrid, FX, ZXT and ZBT cymbals
Remo and Evans heads
User avatar
ChrisNichols
session drummer
session drummer
Posts: 716
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast, BC

Post Mon May 12, 2008 4:19 pm

Occasionally I use tabs. Mostly it's just by ear though. Couldn't read sheet music for drums to save my life, though.
This could only be more awesome if it had tits and was on fire.