Vintage Ludwig kit

All about vintage drums, cymbals, hardware etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Vintage Ludwig kit

Postby Mitchell? » Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:50 am

Well, I need to know everything you guys can tell me about this kit.

Is it authentic?

Time period?

How much is it worth?

and pretty much most of all, is it worth the $575 he's asking?

Thanks guys!
_...:::/ Jimbob2020 agrees \:::..._
ImageImageImage
Mitchell?
groove master
groove master

Vintage Ludwig kit

Help our forum grow and visit our sponsors pages!

Help DML grow and visit pages on left!

Postby eml » Sat Aug 16, 2008 8:04 am

What kit...? :-)
eml
session drummer
session drummer

Postby Mitchell? » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:09 am

Hahahaha.....

Sorry. Here's the link:

http://lexington.craigslist.org/msg/799148730.html
_...:::/ Jimbob2020 agrees \:::..._
ImageImageImage
Mitchell?
groove master
groove master

Postby Quinn » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:18 am

WOW! I'm not an expert but that looks like a steal.
If the butts ain't movin', the cuts ain't groovin'.
Quinn
drumming adept
drumming adept

Postby LyriCa1z » Sun Aug 17, 2008 12:48 pm

Definitely appears to be a good deal. They seem very well taken care of.
-Pearl Export
-1 up 1 down
-Sabian AA
-Evans EC2 Coated
-ProMark 5A
-Latin Percussion
LyriCa1z
drumming adept
drumming adept

Postby zen_drummer » Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:37 pm

OK, here's a bit of history for you...

Those drums are from a beginner line that ludwig had on the market called "ludwig standard" which were an entry level kit with imported hardware. The line later become "Ludwig Rockers".

Ludwig Standards were usually 3 ply shells. Ive seen them comprised of mahogany/poplar/mahogany but occasionally they mixed and matched woods including maple. The inner ply was usually coated to hide the grain.

That kit you're looking at looks like it started out life as gold sparkle, and now the toms have faded to a champagne/gingerale color.