Alesis DM5 Pro Vs. Roland HD1 **Opinions Please**

Roland TD, Yamaha DTX, Alesis DM5, Simmson etc. All about electronic drum sets.

Moderator: Moderators

Postby Hornzog » Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:35 pm

Ive been playing for about 5 months now and the complaints are rolling in thick and fast so I'm thinking its time to move to electronic, Ive got about £450 maybe £500 to spend. I'm also 6'2" which may prove a problem for the Roland as its compact and the pedals are fixed in place..? The Alesis is over £100 cheaper at £350

Roland : http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/en/73948

Alesis : http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/options.php?id=72119

Any opinions on what to buy would be greatly appreciated.
Hornzog
new
new

Help our forum grow and visit our sponsors pages!

Help DML grow and visit pages on left!

Postby anavrinIV » Sun Sep 02, 2007 6:41 pm

the alesis is a good brain but the pads must suck something major for that price. bad pads will cause false triggering, no triggering, no dynamics, etc...

i trust roland products. i have a td-6 set and it completely bested my expectations. the hd-1 isnt as good but it is at least a quality product.
zen_drummer wrote:Real life doesn't work that way, and one day he's gonna pull a stunt like that and they'll put a cap in him. At that point it won't matter that he was fat in high-school and couldn't get laid.
anavrinIV
groove master
groove master

Postby Hornzog » Tue Sep 04, 2007 2:23 pm

Well today i had a little play on both of these kits and i have to say was more impressed with the Alesis, with me being so tall the fixed position of the pedals did not feel not right, also the Alesis toms felt more responsive when buzz rolling on them, the Roland missed the beats at high speeds. I may be mistaken but with a quick 5 minute run on each I think im going to go for the Alesis.

Any more views?
Hornzog
new
new

Postby guitarplayer08 » Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:36 pm