Hi-hat question about new DTXpress IV V2

Roland TD, Yamaha DTX, Alesis DM5, Simmson etc. All about electronic drum sets.

Moderator: Moderators

Postby Chuck1958 » Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:01 pm

Got my new DTXpress IV V2 today. Went together fairly easily despite the horrible instructions included by Yamaha. Only problem I have thus far is the hi-hat. It plays when I strike it but I can't seem to get any sound when using the foot pedal. It came with the RHH135 HH and the HS650A HH stand/pedal. I have the HH cable and the HH control cables going to where they should be. Checked it twice. What am I missing?

Yes, I'm a noob.

Thanks in advance.
Yamaha DTXpress IV V2
Chuck1958
new
new

Help our forum grow and visit our sponsors pages!

Help DML grow and visit pages on left!

Re: Hi-hat question about new DTXpress IV V2

Postby sam(otacon28) » Sun Dec 14, 2008 8:54 am

Just a few things that come to mind . Did you check to see if the pedal function is registering on the drum module as a seperate hit when pressing the pedal on the hi-hat stand ? Also don't take for granted that the module has the sound sample allready assigned for the pedal function , check to make sure that it has a seperate sound selected for it . I have a few times on my DTX 2.0 module had an open hats sound for both the foot pedal and a cymbal hit itself set for both functions so there wasn't a noticable difference . Also I know in Yamaha modules especially there's the ability to turn off specific trigger inputs ( this is more for midi and sampling purposes ) but you may want make sure that all of the hihat features are on and have the respective sounds assigned to them .

I do know that people have mentioned that you should have the Yamaha logo on the hihat facing toward you too , so I'm not sure if this sets an alignment for the hi hat pedal functions feature or not , but it might be worth checking out .

sam(otacon28)