How to set up triggers for LIVE USE

Roland TD, Yamaha DTX, Alesis DM5, Simmson etc. All about electronic drum sets.

Moderator: Moderators

How to set up triggers for LIVE USE

Postby KKBDrummer » Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:40 am

I have a roland kick RT10K trigger, an Alesis DM5
Now what i want to know is how to get them to work with each other?

I'm new to triggers as you can probably tell and am just looking for BASIC information,
so that a 5 year old could set them up.

Any help, very grateful
:)
KKBDrummer
drumming adept
drumming adept
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: Your face.

How to set up triggers for LIVE USE

Help our forum grow and visit our sponsors pages!

Help DML grow and visit pages on left!
 

Postby Empyrean Drums » Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:53 am

What are you having difficulty with?
Triggers aren't rocket science, but they're quite a few app;lications with different variables for each. You should read through some of the topics to familiarize your self with them a bit, then ask more specific questions on what you don't understand
User avatar
Empyrean Drums
groove master
groove master
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Aurora Colorado

Postby KKBDrummer » Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:23 am

Well I havent used them yet, but know why I want to use them, and how to get the sound.
But the gigs my band play arent HUGE venues, and if i was to go to any simple venue, What would be bare essentials to take with me?
Like what leads,
what the leads should plug into

thanks for your reply.
http://www.myspace.com/paidinblooduk
MUSIC UP SOON
Tama
Vic Firth
Sabian
OPEN FOR ENDORSEMENTS:D
KKBDrummer
drumming adept
drumming adept
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: Your face.

Postby Empyrean Drums » Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:19 am

You'll need the triggers, module, and cables to connect between them..
Some trigges and modules use 1/4", some use XLR so it depends on the brand.
The Ddrum Pro and the Roland triggers both work great, stay away from stick-on triggers and the Redshots.
I use a DM5 module and it works great, I know lots of guys who have had good luck with the Yamaha Dtxpress(?I think its called)
User avatar
Empyrean Drums
groove master
groove master
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:22 am
Location: Aurora Colorado

Postby KKBDrummer » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:11 pm

Empyrean Drums wrote:You'll need the triggers, module, and cables to connect between them..
Some trigges and modules use 1/4", some use XLR so it depends on the brand.
The Ddrum Pro and the Roland triggers both work great, stay away from stick-on triggers and the Redshots.
I use a DM5 module and it works great, I know lots of guys who have had good luck with the Yamaha Dtxpress(?I think its called)
Ahh right, then should the sound guy know what to do to get them into the PA/ Outboard?

If thats all, i've pretty much got it.
Thanks alot for your help pal:)
http://www.myspace.com/paidinblooduk
MUSIC UP SOON
Tama
Vic Firth
Sabian
OPEN FOR ENDORSEMENTS:D
KKBDrummer
drumming adept
drumming adept
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: Your face.

Postby iatemygoat » Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:25 pm

you'll also need a DI box if the sound guy doesnt have one which is very rare but i still carry one with me just in case.
User avatar
iatemygoat
groove master
groove master
 
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:57 am
Location: Minneapolis MN

Postby KKBDrummer » Sat Jul 19, 2008 1:29 pm

iatemygoat wrote:you'll also need a DI box if the sound guy doesnt have one which is very rare but i still carry one with me just in case.


Ahh right no worries, everything is sorted:)

Thanks again.
http://www.myspace.com/paidinblooduk
MUSIC UP SOON
Tama
Vic Firth
Sabian
OPEN FOR ENDORSEMENTS:D
KKBDrummer
drumming adept
drumming adept
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: Your face.

Re:

Postby galgano16 » Sun May 17, 2009 11:52 am

iatemygoat wrote:you'll also need a DI box if the sound guy doesnt have one which is very rare but i still carry one with me just in case.


What's a DI Box, and what's it for? and what's probably a good one to get?
Ignorance is a clear indication of a severe lack of intelligence-me
METAL 4EVER!!!!
http://www.myspace.com/ngkillsu
http://www.myspace.com/zombiesforgore
http://www.myspace.com/deception102
User avatar
galgano16
drumming adept
drumming adept
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:41 pm
Location: Chitown

Re: Re:

Postby sam(otacon28) » Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:52 pm

galgano16 wrote:
iatemygoat wrote:you'll also need a DI box if the sound guy doesnt have one which is very rare but i still carry one with me just in case.


What's a DI Box, and what's it for? and what's probably a good one to get?


Here's some pretty good info. on what Direct boxes are , what they are used for , and a few different types of them as well . Rapco actually makes a pretty descent DI Box .

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DI_unit


sam(otacon28)
Currently endorsed by Blastech drums & sponsored by Drum Star Wear , Xtreme Drummer , & Music Star Wear musician apparel
User avatar
sam(otacon28)
drumming adept
drumming adept
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:58 pm
Location: Pa.


Return to Electronic Drum Sets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 7 guests