Pedals and the neighbors

Roland TD, Yamaha DTX, Alesis DM5, Simmson etc. All about electronic drum sets.

Moderator: Moderators

Pedals and the neighbors

Postby hermeschris » Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:54 pm

I was thinking about buying some E/V-drums. I am a beginner (though I play some other instruments). Also, I am living in an apartment and will mostly play at night (22h-open end). Therefore I am interested in silent drums.
Often I heard that the HD-1 is very silent - especially the pedals. I am a bit insecure cause the TD-3 seems to have better pedals, but they are louder (so I was told). Do you guys think that the TD-3 is too loud for the neighbors? Or would you recommend me the HD-1 ... or something completely different?
Another issue is "sounds": once I learn some basics I'd like to play also some jazz-drums. Is the HD-1 up for it (at least for a beginner like me)?
Sorry for the high newbie-factor of my post ... but would be great if you could give me some advices! :)
Thanks a lot!
hermeschris
new
new

Pedals and the neighbors

Help our forum grow and visit our sponsors pages!

Help DML grow and visit pages on left!

Postby SGarrett » Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:42 pm

While the drums themselves might be significantly quieter, your neighbors may well hear the tapping and thud of the pedal through the floor.
"If the goal is for me to give up my reality for your reality, then the goal is for me to give up my self for your self--a goal I have to reject."
SGarrett

Postby Eleven22 » Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:44 am

Tapping is not that loud, td 3 would be fine. even if you are slaming down on them it's not that loud. If you can get mesh heads it would be quiter. get some good headphones.
Mapex drums
instanbul
Roland V-drums
Hand percussionist
Eleven22
beginner
beginner

Postby SGarrett » Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:08 am