playing with headphones/monitors

Post here anything about the world of drumming. Equipment, music, drum gear, artists, events, gigs, and anything else drum set related!

Moderator: Moderators

sharp13
beginner
beginner

Post Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:42 pm

ok im not a pro drummer by all means, maybe one day, butive always played with out headphones, and i had an audition saturday for my church and my pastors wife had me play 2 songs, first song i did fine, second song was faster, but geeeez man the headphones confused me on the second song!!!!!! i had voices inside of my head!, my point is how exactly are they suposed to work, am i suposed to hearr every lil detail from every body or what?so what do i look out for?
SGarrett

Post Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:14 pm

If you're on your own dedicated monitor mix you can ask for certain things to be turned up or down. But if, more likely than not, you're on the same channel with everyone else you're going to hear a full mix.

So it was hearing the vocals loud and clear that threw you off?
"If the goal is for me to give up my reality for your reality, then the goal is for me to give up my self for your self--a goal I have to reject."
dwtoast72
session drummer
session drummer

Post Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:54 am

SGarrett wrote:If you're on your own dedicated monitor mix you can ask for certain things to be turned up or down. But if, more likely than not, you're on the same channel with everyone else you're going to hear a full mix.

I heard that.... You should have full control of what ever it is you're monitoring...
sharp13
beginner
beginner

Post Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:00 am

SGarrett wrote:If you're on your own dedicated monitor mix you can ask for certain things to be turned up or down. But if, more likely than not, you're on the same channel with everyone else you're going to hear a full mix.